White Ribbon Workplaces commit to end domestic and family violence

13 more Queensland Government agencies have achieved accreditation from White Ribbon Australia and become White Ribbon Workplaces.

The accreditation recognises the Queensland Government’s commitment to prevent violence, support employees affected by domestic and family violence, and promote safe and respectful workplace cultures. It takes the total to 16 accredited agencies.

The Queensland Government firmly recognises that domestic and family violence is a workplace issue. It can affect the safety, wellbeing, productivity and performance of all employees—those experiencing violence, those using violence, carers and colleagues.

As Queensland’s largest employer, we are making a significant difference to how domestic and family violence is addressed in the workplace. In turn, this will influence social change within the broader community.

We are proud of the steps we have taken to support our employees, and hope to empower them to stand up, speak out and strive for respectful and equitable relationships.

Everyone has the right to feel safe and supported in the workplace, and it is vitally important our workplaces set the highest standard in caring for our colleagues.

This accreditation represents a significant milestone in our domestic and family violence workplace reform program to foster workplace cultural change.

It’s also great to recognise the increased awareness of what underlies domestic and family violence, and the role we can all play to end it.

We will continue to lead the way for Queensland workplaces in modelling respectful, safe, supportive and equitable workplace cultures, and implementing policies and programs to ensure employees affected by domestic and family violence receive the support they need.

The Queensland Government is committed to creating a Queensland free from domestic and family violence.

Agencies who achieved accreditation in 2017 include:

  • Department of Justice and Attorney-General
  • Department of Housing and Public Works
  • Queensland Police Service
  • Public Safety Business Agency and the Office of the Inspector-General Emergency Management
  • Queensland Treasury
  • Department of Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games
  • Department of Health
  • Department of Science, Information Technology and Innovation
  • Department of Natural Resources and Mines
  • Queensland Ambulance Service
  • Department of the Premier and Cabinet
  • Department of Education and Training
  • Public Service Commission

These agencies now proudly stand beside our colleagues at the Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services; Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships; and the Department of Transport and Mains Roads who have previously achieved accreditation as White Ribbon Workplaces.

Visit White Ribbon Australia to find out how to become a White Ribbon Workplace.


Public Service Commission

More news