The policy replaces Websites policy (IS26) and is based on the Australian Government’s Digital service standard.

Benefits of change

The new policy will support us to:

  • broaden our scope to digital services, not just websites
  • strengthen design efforts in a more contemporary and customer-focussed way
  • align us with best practice and other Australian jurisdictions
  • move to WCAG2.1 AA accessibility.

Implement the policy

The policy requires digital services meet all 13 criteria in the Digital service standard when developing or significantly altering government digital information, products, and services. Agencies will need to assess new or redeveloped high-volume transactional digital services against the criteria, using the assessment framework, to be able to demonstrate they comply with the Standard.

A new Queensland Government design system with reusable design patterns and components is being developed to help designers and developers across the Queensland Government build consistent, accessible, user-focused experiences, which will comply with the Standard

Transition stages

The transition plan for the Digital services policy supports the staged adoption of the policy with three phases over six years. Services with the greatest customer reach and impact should be prioritised first to deliver value early.

Information session

Guidance and tools will be available to assist agencies transition to the Digital service standard. Attend our online information session to help you understand and apply the Digital service standard.

Focus: Understand the Digital service policy framework and the Standard (13 criteria)
Date and time:
Thursday 17 March 2022, 11am
Duration: 50 minutes
Delivery: MS Teams

Register for the information session

More information

For more information contact Sharon Litchfield at