Building on the strengths of our stories: cultural agility program

When: 
Wednesday 26 February–Thursday 27 February 2020
Monday 30 March–Tuesday 31 March 2020
Wednesday 1 April–Thursday 2 April 2020
Monday 25 May–Tuesday 26 May 2020
Monday 8 June–Tuesday 9 June 2020
Monday 15 June–Tuesday 16 June 2020
Tuesday 23 June–Wednesday 24 June 2020
Monday 27 July–Tuesday 28 July 2020
Wednesday 19 August–Thursday 20 August 2020
Wednesday 7 October–Thursday 8 October 2020
Wednesday 4 November–Thursday 5 November 2020
Monday 23 November–Tuesday 24 November 2020
Where: 
Various: Brisbane, Townsville, Cairns
Time: 
9:30am3:00pm

About

DNRME have made a conscious commitment to improve relationships and opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. We value an inclusive and diverse workplace that strives to become a culturally agile organisation and have prioritised this cultural journey. The program is co facilitated by the DNRME Futures Team and renowned Indigenous Leader Leann Wilson, a Bidjara/Kara-Kara and South Sea Islander descendent.

Learning objectives

Workshop participants will learn about our State’s history and the impact of government administration on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

It is a fantastic opportunity for workshop participants to build on the strengths of our collective stories and to celebrate our culture.

Leadership competencies

This events aligns with the following Leadership competencies for Queensland:

  • Audience: Individual contributor, Team leader, Program Leader, Executive, Chief executive
  • Vision: Leads strategically, stimulates ideas and innovation, leads change in complex environments, makes insightful decisions.
  • Results: Develops and mobilises talent, builds enduring relationships, inspires others, drives accountability and outcomes.
  • Accountability: Fosters healthy and inclusive workplaces, pursues continuous growth, demonstrates sound governance.

What's involved

Two half-day (9.30am to 3.00pm) face-to-face training sessions.

When and Where

  • 26–27 February 2020 – Brisbane
  • 30–31 March 2020 – Brisbane
  • 1–2 April 2020 – Townsville
  • 25–26 May 2020 – Brisbane
  • 8–9 June 2020 – Cairns
  • 15–16 June 2020 – Townsville
  • 23–24 June 2020 – Brisbane
  • 27–28 July 2020 – Brisbane
  • 19–20 August 2020 – Brisbane
  • 7–8 October 2020 – Brisbane
  • 4–5 November 2020 – Brisbane
  • 23–24 November 2020 - Brisbane

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander career pathways participants

This course is available to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander career pathways participants. Limited spaces are available. To register or to find out more, please contact the career pathways team at careerpathways@psc.qld.gov.au.

Enrol or find out more

This training is provided by the Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

Contact

Organiser: 
Melanie Meredith
Phone: 
3199 7395
Email: 
melanie.meredith [at] dnrme.qld.gov.au