Go to top of page

Building on the strengths of our stories: cultural agility program

When: 
Monday 27 May–Tuesday 28 May 2019
Monday 24 June–Tuesday 25 June 2019
Monday 22 July–Tuesday 23 July 2019
Monday 26 August–Tuesday 27 August 2019
Monday 9 September–Tuesday 10 September 2019
Monday 14 October–Tuesday 15 October 2019
Monday 28 October–Tuesday 29 October 2019
Monday 25 November–Tuesday 26 November 2019
Where: 
Level 14, 1 William Street, Brisbane
Time: 
9:30am3:00pm

About

We invite supervisors of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander career pathways service participants to join DNRME employees at the Building on the strengths of our stories: cultural agility program.

Facilitators will share their personal stories and history to give insight into who they are versus how they are as Australia’s First Peoples. We will discuss the intent of legislative and legal frameworks enacted on Australia’s First Peoples and build an understanding around cause and effect and how that shapes the notion of how Australia's First Peoples are today.

Our "deadly" colleagues at DATSIP will also share some of our State’s history and the impact government administration has had on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

The facilitators

The program is co facilitated by the DNRME Futures team and renowned indigenous leader Leann Wilson, a Bidjara/Kara-Kara and South Sea Islander descendent. Leann is the Managing Director of Regional Economic Solutions which she and her business partner started almost 6 years ago.

When available, the training will also includes a session by Native Title Barrister, Joshua Creamer, winner of the 2017 National Indigenous Legal Professional of the year award. He will gives us a warrior’s perspective, and practitioner's perspective, on the impact of native title legislation.

What's involved

Two half-day (9.30am to 3.00pm) face-to-face training sessions.

Enrol or find out more

This training is provided by the Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

DNRME employees

Speak with your supervisor and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Futures team Program Coordinator, Melanie Meredith, at Melanie.Meredith@dnrme.qld.gov.au or on (07) 3199 7395 or 0417621220.

Career pathways participants

Limited spaces are available. To register or to find out more, please contact the Manager, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander career pathways service.

Contact

Organiser: 
Department of Natural Resources
Mines and Energy